Lahm’s Book. (Post 3.)

Amazon.de lists August 29th as the release date,  but I am wondering if one can already buy it at a store in Germany. (Perhaps, those of you who live in Germany can give an answer to that question.) Meanwhile, I am impatiently waiting for my copy that I pre-ordered a week ago or so. I cannot even imagine how slowly I will be reading it, but I am determined to do that. I have already written two (1 and 2) posts about it, but I am going to say it again: I think it should be interesting.

Bild.de has published some excerpts, and I wish they did not spoil it for the rest of us. I know, I know… I could have chosen not to read that article, but I could not help it! In all honesty, I just could not say ‘no’ to reading some of the stuff that I have wanted to read since March! Of course, Bild.de chose those bits that were pertinent to the coaches, namely Klinsmann, Magath, and van Gaal. (Why was I not surprised?) Bild.de quotes Philipp saying that “this book is a book that I, myself, would have liked to read when I was a young football player.”

In particular,

He describes how it feels to get a lecture from Bayern’s bosses Uli Hoeneß and Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, and get a fine afterwards.

He reveals what has really happened in our National Team in recent years. Why the EURO 2004 under Rudi Völler was a big disaster. How Jogi Löw was a chief strategist already under Jürgen Klinsmann. Why our WC-2010 stars, with 4:1 victory against England, had to laugh even during the game.

He talks, for the first time, about juicy rumors, about his private life and a nasty surprise that  forced him to change his place of residence.

(my translation, (c) unavis)

The article goes on by pointing out that Lahm describes what Klinsmann’s (the lack of strategy), Magath’s (obsessiveness over pressuring people), and van Gaal’s (the refusal to admit a need for some changes) problems were, and frankly, I think he got it spot on.

May I just say that it sounds awesome? At least for me. (I only hope that he does not apologize for his 2009 interview in this book.)  I would assume that the book should get quite a lot of feedback. I am sure some people will not like it. I am sure that the media will write about it some more.

In the meantime, Bild.de is going to publish other excerpts over the next few days. I will try to restrain myself from reading them, but I know I will fail.

EDIT: I have already seen some comments saying that Lahm should keep quiet and play football instead of writing a book. Oh my goodness… Here we go. We all better be ready *laugh*

ONCE AGAIN FOR THOSE WHO HAVE NO IDEA HOW IT WORKS: Lahm DID NOT WRITE the book himself. It is called “ghostwriting”.

6 comments

  1. i wish i could get the book. but i am sure the book is written in GERMAN only, right? i dont speak german and i really hope that one day the book would be translated to english…

    1. Unfortunately, yes, it is only in German. However, I’m planning on posting translations of some parts of it whenever I can. Not all of it, but at least something.

  2. ohohoh~~~I want to buy this book! I’m learning german by myself, and my goal is to understand all words in Lahm’s book! ahahahaha~~~ Though I’m in China… I have to find a way to get this book…
    Anyway, I totally support Lahm’s book. I believe it doesn’t focus on revealing some secrets, but on something that Lahm would like to share with us and what he is thinking of. I’m looking forward to this book!=)))

    1. It already is a hot topic all over the Internet =) Even though I truly don’t believe that what he says about the coaches is super-sensational, people are reacting as if they never knew it/saw it themselves =)

  3. Hey,

    mein eigentlicher Kommentar wird etwas später kommen, wenn ich etwas mehr Zeit habe. Hier habe ich nur schon mal einen Link, wo man die ersten beiden Kapiteln von Philipps Buch schon mal vorab lesen kann. Erscheinen tut es nämlich wirklich erst am Montag.

    http://www.book2look.com/vBook.aspx?id=978-3-88897-729-9

    Ich finde schon allein diese beiden Kapiteln machen Lust auf mehr!!!

    1. Hey =)

      Thanks so much for the link! I’m going to translate a bit this evening, perhaps…

      Thanks again! I took a look at it, and it is so interesting!!

      (Clearly, I am excited :D)

Leave a Reply

