Bild.de: New Excerpts From Lahm’s Book. Part III.

Alrighty. Yesterday Bild took a pause in publishing the excerpts. (Very clever decision, I might add.) And now they are back, having united two promised excerpts in one. This time around, however, I am going to comment on them right away because I simply have to.

JUST A FRIENDLY REMINDER: I do not know in what context the following excerpts appear in the book. And we all know that the context matters.

The first one refers to his infamous 2009 interview, which I, personally, love.

And here what Philipp writes,

“There is a strong response from the bosses. Rummenigge is really upset. He says he has never experienced something like that. There will be consequences. Serious consequences. While the team, coach, and staff let the storm pass with their heads down, the boss comes to a conclusion that my faux pas will result in the biggest fine that the FC Bayern has ever known. I sit in my chair and look straight ahead. So, that’s how it is when one gets a piece of somebody else’s mind [when one gets lectured]. I did not know, it does not feel good, I can gladly do without it. “

I laughed at the last sentence. This is great.

So, then he had to report to Säbener Straße,

“I put on a white shirt and a dark jacket because it truly will be an official meeting. Clearly, I am nervous. I am not somebody who is looking for anger. But I’ll accept anger if I can make a difference that way.”

This. That is exactly what one French newspaper has pointed out. And that might be an answer nowadays, too.

Then Bild writes that Lahm repeats his statements in front of the bosses, emphasizing that he only wanted to draw attention to problems.

“The conversation lasts for two hours, then we begin to wonder off the subject. Uli Hoeneß, for example, has received a bottle of cognac, and suddenly, we are talking about cognac and that we should drink some at one point together. ‘But you are still going to receive a fine,’ says the board before it gets too comfortable and then makes an announcement of giving me the highest fine that an FC Bayern player has ever received. I have to pay 50,000 euros for not abiding by the rules of communication with FC Bayern. It is a lot of money, but I think I have made a good investment.

Genius.

[…]

“The incident, that has generated as many reports, discussions, and comments in the press and on TV as only a plagiarized doctoral dissertation from a minister would have, provides a clear and evident basis for communication between the board and me.”

I laughed again.

“Commitment is not a one-time thing, and you have to prove courage every day all over again. And in that regard, Uli Hoeneß is, perhaps, the best example. I would almost say [that he is] my role model.”

Uhm… Okay, then. Lahm knows him better than I do.

Finally, Bild reports that Philipp did not want to play for 1860 München because there was a hole in their fence when he came there *laughing out loud* One can read it in the second chapter  of Lahm’s book, I believe. 

2 comments

  1. Thank you for translating! They are very interesting parts, especially the last part! I just cannot stop laughing! I have to admit this post has cheered me up!

    1. I know, right? :D The first time I read it I was like, “Oh, this is classic!” :D I’m glad you’re now in a better mood =)

Leave a Reply

