If I May Cut In…

As always, when reading people’s comments, I have to remind myself that they are not representative of everyone else’s opinion. Or perhaps, they are… 

On a side note, the DFB says they will make an assessment of Lahm’s book in its entirety before commenting on anything.

I am not Lahm. Obviously. But, all the same, I am going to comment on some reactions. It is my opinion, but I don’t have to emphasize it, do I? It is my blog, after all.

1. “Why hasn’t he commented/criticized earlier?”

If you know about his interview from 2009, you know that he has openly criticized the transfer policy of his club. Now, the bosses stated that he had gone against the rule of conduct by criticizing his teammates and his coach (?) Thus, he had to pay a fine. I have read the original interview, and THERE IS NOT A WORD about his teammates. (Unless, of course, it was not the right one.) With regard to his coach, he praised van Gaal for giving Bayern a new philosophy. For giving them a philosophy. Period.

Now, let’s us take the case of Lahm’s book, the National Team, etc. If he had said what he says now back then, he would have gone against the code that, I am sure, exists in the National Team, too. (Just like he was said to do in 2009, which, in reality, was not the case.) He was and, depending on what (who) we are talking about, is bound by it. Not to mention the fact that if he wants to criticize his teammates, he does that internally, and I do not even doubt that he tells his opinion to the coaches.

He does not work with Völler, Klinsmann, or van Gaal. They are his former coaches, hence he is not bounded by the code anymore. Therefore, he has the freedom to say what he wants to say. Also, I think Lahm understood his position in the team at that time, as he understood whether or not he had the right to openly express himself in front of the coach.

2. “How could he?”

What exactly did he say that was so bad? In all honesty, I do not understand what the problem is. It is like a tempest in a teapot. Haven’t people seen Völler’s work? Haven’t they seen and read about van Gaal’s work? Haven’t they seen, or don’t they know about Magath’s work? I mean, c’mon! Everything was pretty much in the open with regard to trainings and results.

But to answer my question.. Na und? Why not?

3. In the midst of this all, there are some comments that let me know there are people who think:

From Lahm’s Facebook page:

“Ha! How ridiculous that people are upset here! Quite honestly, I trust Philip Lahm on the high football expertise.  Certainly more than the old authorities, Völler & Co. I only remember what was the game style under Völler. Goals scored only after performing standards. There was not a bit of philosophy!
Anyway, I find it interesting to hear, for once, the player’s side of the story, an honest opinion. When asked in interviews, one never makes a true statement .. “Yes, we stand behind our coach blah blah blah..” And I also find it very interesting that players can assess very well how well a coach works.
Of course, here again the media is pretty hyped. And the silly masses chatter about everything :) I’ll buy the book and form my own opinion because I think that Lahm is also entitled to his own opinion. Even in public!”

====

“Where do this people come from, who, at first, click on ‘like’ on Philipp Lahm’s page and then bitch about him?

From what I’ve read so far – in original format, not some interpretations, – it consists of what (almost?) everyone knows. Völler and Klinsmann are not real experts, merely figureheads: even at that time Löw was doing the real work. Klinsi gets credit for inviting him; he must’ve noticed the competence during a trainer’s training course. Magath works primarily via pressure, which stops producing results at some point. Van Gaal can’t take criticism and stuck to his system, even though it did not work anymore.

So, why all the fuss? Is Völler embarrassed that he put fun in the foreground? Lahm is a very ambitious player who also uses his brain during a match (as more and more players of Löw-era) instead of just his skills. The statements themselves aren’t controversial in any way.”

====

[from one newspaper’s forum]

“The time when one took Rudi seriously has passed. Unlike so many club officials, he lacks the ability to look at things differently. Ballack’s case is the primary example. His Bayern-insecurity and Lahm’s critique of his work as a head coach of the National Team have probably prompted him to go ballistic again. This verbal insult is no better than his “circle class”. Perhaps, Rudi has had too much beer?

If one looks at the previously quoted passages from Lahm’s book, it seems like a tempest in a teapot. Völler, after his time as head coach of the National Team, has come no further (in terms of his rank) than Klinsmann until recently. Lahm’s opinion does not strike as false. Even when it comes down to van Gaal, there is really nothing new: it has already been said in the media countless times. Same for Magath. So, why the artificial excitement?

Ultimately, a book like that is an expression of an opinion and not a dogma, and a player of the National Team should also have a right to express his views, if he think he should write a book. Völler’s embarrassing tantrum should boost the sales even more.”

====

And I concur.

2 comments

  1. O, these comments made me more comfortable. Thank you for quoting them :-)) I’m glad there are still some people who are looking at this in a reasonable way. I’ve read too much criticism in these days, and felt awful about that. I think I should calm down and try to laugh it off.
    But I’m starting to worry about him, because [the DFB says they will make an assessment of Lahm’s book in its entirety before commenting on anything.]… I hope nothing bad will happen…

    1. You know, there are quite a few comments that support Lahm. So, it’s nice to see that.

      There is a new report that Jogi, Bierhoff, Dr. Zwanziger will get together with Philipp and the player’s counsel to discuss the issue.

Leave a Reply

