Bayern vs. Villarreal

Taking time out of one’s busy schedule to watch a game in the middle of the day… Now, that is what I call dedication! *grin* So, I can say with a clear conscience that I am dedicated.

It was certainly a good game, and I enjoyed it. It so happens that I do not have a possibility of watching the replay this time around, so no minute-by-minute chart of Lahm’s awesomeness. What I can say, though, is that Bayern did everything in their power to prevent Villarreal from creating chances to score. They were constantly pressuring their opponent, moving forward. I am content with Bayern winning 2:0, but I am sure I am not alone in thinking that the score could have been different if Bayern had not wasted some of their chances. However, like I just said, I have nothing to complain about.

Lahm was in his defensive-orchestrating-going-forward-when-needed mode, which basically means he was… well, Lahm *grin* Twice I have already read comments from people, who are not in the Lahm-fan boat with me, saying after the match, “Lahm is a god.” Quite flattering. He also talked to the referee several times, one of those was because of Bastian getting an unfair yellow card. In the post-match interview, I was hoping for some sort of smile, but Philipp did not have the same idea. *laugh*

Here is a very short video. Lahm speaks for 24 second or so, basically saying that the team did everything right, i.e. they were focused for 90 minutes, they did not leave much for Villarreal to do, etc. I just watched it again and did notice a tiny smile. I guess I was hoping for a bigger one at the time. *laugh* Not like he is obliged to, of course.

Leave a Reply

