Hannover, Nuremberg: My Two Cents

It is always great to see when people you cheer for are happy. I do not know about others, but that certainly gives me a kind of satisfaction. It is as if I, myself, won. Today is one of those days. Bayern won 4:0 against Nuremberg, a match that, according to Lahm, was different for him and Thomas, being a Bavarian derby and all. However, before throwing in my two cents about today’s game, a couple of things about the match against Hannover last week.

I am done with negativity when it comes to Bayern. That is the best way to put it. Last season there was so much negative stuff going on that I was worried and nervous all the time. I do not want to feel the same this season. That is not to say that I do not get upset if Bayern plays poorly. I do. Of course, I do. But I have no desire whatsoever to panic and/or create too much drama. Was I upset with the result? Somewhat. Nevertheless, I loved every minute of the match. Yes, I did. I loved the dynamics of it, but, most importantly, I loved the fact that my boys did not give up for one minute. With that red card for Boateng and Lahm’s foul leading to the penalty kick, it was a difficult situation, and they kept on going. They also kept on going despite the referee’s strange decisions, which, let’s face it, were not quite adequate.

Hence, following the I-refuse-negativity-and-embrace-positivity model, I was not worried or upset about Lahm’s performance. Was it bad? Yep, it was. Yet, I did not think it was bad for the whole 90 minutes. Everyone makes mistakes. Everyone has bad days. But, forgive me my language, did his performance suck all together? I do not think so. I liked the second half. One of the few shots on goal we had was Lahm’s attempt to score. And the pass leading to Alaba’s goal was from… Lahm! He was the one who gave an absolutely brilliant pass to David. It is because of his visionary approach that Bayern had a chance of scoring. (Thanks to Alaba for completing it!) He was one of the few who kept on going. In my opinion, that says a lot! A lot. So, I think one should give him credit when credit is due and look at things in their entirety.

Today was a different story altogether. I am satisfied with Lahm’s performance. Sometimes, when watching him play, I smile to myself, thinking how he transforms into a playmaker when it is needed. Gerland is right: Lahm can basically do everything.

The episodes that stood out to me were the following:

the 18th+ minute  – Lahm makes a run, and I am waiting for him to, perhaps, try to score. Yet, he decides against it, as if he were not planning on doing it anyway. He gives a brilliant pass to Gomez who, in his turn, gives it to Bastian, which leads to a goal. If there are people who doubt Lahm’s input, think about this: it was a very precise pass, and I doubt that could have been a coincidence. 

the 38th+ minute – Lahm gives a nice pass to Ribéry, and Frank scores. I hear a lot of “such and such player gave a wonderful pass”, so why not to say it in this situation, too? Look at Ribéry’s reaction. That says it all.

the 86th+ minute – another great pass from Lahm to Gomez.

Therefore, Lahm helped to score two goals out of four. Not bad, isn’t it? But I feel like it went unnoticed. Thus, I am drawing attention to it now. *smile*

After the match, Süddeutsche Zeitung, when writing about Lahm’s performance, remarked,

Was rightfully concerned before the game because Nuremberg’s coach Dieter Hecking had announced that his team would play extremely defensively. As the Chairman of  the club’s internal “Think Defense” initiative, [he] knows that against extremely defensive teams FC Bayern, out of sheer joy, sometimes relies too much on their new goalkeeper’s outstanding qualities. After the first 80 seconds, [he] runs a 80-meter sprint to congratulate Mario Gomez on his goal because, basically, the outcome of the game has been decided. After that, played inconspicuously, but also nearly inhumanly consistent: hardy a bad pass, hardly a lost duel – and no over-motivated action. (my translation)

I love how they keep calling him “the Chairman of the “Think Defense” initiative” because he has talked so much about the defense. *laugh* And rightfully so. Oh, the greatness of Lahm. All in all, a good game.

PS.: here is a video from a press conference before today’s game. Lahm mentions how Heynckes knows how to talk to players, how things are when the club wins and when it does not, and how it will be a special game for him and Thomas.

2 comments

  1. Hi! I enjoy your blog very much and have been following every article you’ve written. I heard there is a joint interview of Lahm and Kahn published in Sportbild (current issue). I am really curious to read it but unfortunately I can’t get access to that article. It seems that Philipp elaborated on his management style in that interview and pointed out the differencies between his style and Kahn’s. To my surpurise, Kahn generally agreed with his view on the leadership style issue. One article in TZ extracted some parts of that interview but I (and many other fans of Philipp) really want to read the original. Could you get access to that magazine or have you read that interview?

    1. Hi Jessie!

      Thanks for your kind words! I appreciate it.

      As to the interview, yeah, I’ve seen that there is one. However, I can’t buy it online. Last time (in the summer) I bought my copy online, and it worked out just fine. This time it doesn’t let me do that. So, unless somebody scans it and sends it to me, I have no access to the content at the moment =(

      I, myself, am interested in finding out what they said, especially considering the fact that Kahn has been critical up until now. And suddenly he’s alright with everything ahaha (not that I care about his opinion, but still…)

      I’ll keep on trying to get the interview, and hopefully it’ll work out.

Leave a Reply

