Lahm In July: An Update

Can you feel the new season approaching? I have to be honest: I do not. With the Olympics going on, I am focused on those sporting events, hence I tend to forget that the Bundesliga is right around the corner. As many of you know, Philipp did not travel to China with the rest of the team. Instead, he stayed in Munich and did some training on his own. It has to be weird – I think – to train by yourself with just several people watching. I am not sure I would have the same discipline to train by myself. When you know there is someone else going through the same stuff, it might be easier, is it not? :}

Lahm has mentioned in the interview for Fit For Fun that he does not like running, and it must be so because at his lonely training session he asked the fans if anybody would be willing to run instead of him (the source). Granted, it was a joke, but, nevertheless, he also inquired about the time, if it was already noon :} In addition, he succeeded in scoring some goals into a mini soccer net. “It looks like I am a left-back, after all,” shouted the 28-year-old, “I put them all in with the instep, inside, with the outside of the boot.” The fitness trainer didn’t disagree with him, “A left-back, clearly.” Personally, I think he has been pretty damn good on the right, too. A luxury for everyone.

There is also a video of the training session, which made me ask myself, “Why am I not there?” Since there were not very many people, and he had probably nothing better to do, Philipp took pictures with the fans, signed autographs, etc. Argh… That would be the perfect day to visit Munich.

Meanwhile, Lahm has given an interview to the official Bayern website. You can read the first part here and the second part here. (It is the English translation.)

Finally, a man named Rüdiger Elke has started a marathon called “Walking Through Germany For A Child’s Laughter.” It is a 3,500 km marathon that takes him through 16 German states and will end on the Zugspitze in October. (Elke started it in April.) At various stops, he asks football clubs to donate a signed jersey that he will sell in September, donating the money to a charity for children. On Saturday, he stopped at Bayern, and Philipp Lahm took part in this project, i.e. donated a jersey.

9 comments

  1. where i can watch the video ? .. give my love to Lahm. <3. Hopefully waiting for August 15 :)

    1. Hi :)

      Just click on “the source” that I wrote in parentheses, and it should take you to a webpage where there’s a short video.

  2. I watched that video and went to Munich on Thursday. But unfortunately he didn’t have any private training after I arrived. But it’s even a better opportunity to talk and take photos with players when they run in the forest and they did it yesterday. So I took photo with Philipp and talked to him, although not to munch. OMG he is sooooo sweet and nice;)

    1. Hi :)

      Are you serious?! Whoa! That’s awesome! I’m very happy for you!

      I can’t believe they were running in the forest! :D That’s funny. And I’m surprised that they had time to stop and take pictures.

      I’m glad you had a chance to meet him and thank you for sharing your story with the rest of us.

      1. I actually went to Italy cos I thought he’d gonna be there. but… So I just feel I have to do it last week;) I took the picture with him after they finished running, But some coaches are available for conversation during the training because they take care of the water and stuff. All the players and coaches are great and friendly. My friend took pictures with almost everyone but I did only with Philipp cos I think it’s awkward to taking picture without saying anything and honestly I don’t know what to say to the others. But unluckily they won’t have so many running sessions when the season begins.
        So if u want to meet him, just go there when the schedule says ‘Training (nicht auf dem Platz)’ and the Perlacher forest is just 15 minutes walk;)

        1. Oh my goodness! Wow! That’s a great story. Thanks for sharing! I’m very, very happy for you! I’m glad it all worked out. Did you speak to him in English or German? :)

          And I completely understand your point of view on taking pictures when you have nothing to say. I would do the same.

          1. It’s also a great pleasure for me to share the story with someone who likes him:D And I love reading your artikels. The fans in my country just argue about nonsense.
            I asked him in German to take a picture with me. And he tried to get his bicycle out so I helped him by holding the other one. He said ‘thank you’ in English. Then I told him in German that I could German. He just laughed and it’s so cute when he laughes. When he left I told him ‘Alles Gute mit deiner Familie’ cos I’m too nervous to ask whether his baby it’s born(too private). He seemed to understand what I actually meant and then laughed and thanked me again. I’m the one who’s taking picture with him but he thanked me twice.
            Do you have any plans visiting the training or watching the match in Allianz Arena?

    2. I can imagine how happy you were :) This is excellent! And it’s great that you had a chance to talk to him. It makes the whole experience more personal. Also, I’m glad you liked him in person :)

      As to me, no, I’m not planning on visiting the Allianz Arena or training. At least not for a while. I was there for the Champions League, so the next trip won’t be for some time :)

Leave a Reply

