Germany vs. France: A friendly

So, today was the friendly between Germany and France. I have to admit that, although I had been looking forward to it, I was not very excited about it. After all, it was supposed to be just a friendly, and we all know how Germany plays in friendlies. I am glad to say I was wrong! I really enjoyed the game, and I thought that both teams were not there just for the sake of kicking the ball around. They played open football, and the fact that Les Bleus scored first made it even more interesting. As soon as the first half was over, I actually said out loud, “That was the first half?! So fast?!” Very entertaining indeed! Perhaps, not everyone put his 100% into it, but that is understandable, in my opinion. If I am not mistaken, the last time Germany won against France in France was in 1935. That was a very long time ago. Therefore, congratulations to die Mannschaft!

It looks like for many the main attraction of the match was a duel between Lahm and Ribéry. I thought Lahm somewhat struggled, but at the same time I did not think he really tried that much. I did not notice his not-on-my-watch attitude, and I don’t blame him for that since there is a game coming up on Saturday. Also, even though Lahm was not at the top of his game, he did make Ribéry’s life not so sweet and had at least a couple of very important saves.

What did you all think of his performance?

Leave a Reply

