Living the Dream, Having Achieved the Goal

In Lahm I trust.

I stayed away from football forums. I stayed away from all sorts of discussions before the CL Final. I wanted to keep my peace of mind, patiently waiting for the event to take place. I don’t remember the last time I screamed so loud, watching my team score the goal. Two days later I still can’t believe that we did it. We. Did. It. The trophy is ours. I can only imagine how the players must feel because even my feelings – those of an ordinary fan – are indescribable. 

It was an intense game, and it definitely wasn’t Bayern‘s best game. However, I believe there is at least one explanation for this: pressure. An enormous pressure. Borussia would have been praised no matter what. If they had won, people would have talked about how great it is to win the trophy so soon. (To a certain extent, they are still newbies in the CL.) They lost, and people still congratulate them on their wonderful season. Had Bayern lost, that wouldn’t have been the case. The amount of dirt that would have been thrown on the players, especially Lahm and Schweinsteiger, is hardly fathomable. So, I understand why some of them were nervous, why the meaning of winning the CL was greater than anyone could imagine. The first twenty minutes were brutal. Then Bayern calmed down more or less, and in the second half I could see Borussia starting to get nervous.

Needless to say, this wasn’t Lahm’s best game. Borussia didn’t allow Bayern to attack too easily, and Lahm’s raids forward were seldom. Frankly, I’m not sure it would have been wise to go forward as often as people would’ve liked him too. The defense was the top priority. He also made some misplaced passes here and there. Nothing too drastic, but they did occur.

I have dreamed of Lahm winning and lifting this trophy. I can’t tell you how proud I was to witness it. He believes in his team. He believes in his vision of the team. He believes in his vision of how the team should develop despite the fact that football traditionalists didn’t and perhaps still don’t agree. And you know what? It worked. 

This quote from the Guardian has been all over the Internet the past couple of days, hence forgive me for putting it here as well, but I can’t deny its greatness.

The importance for Schweinsteiger’s and Lahm’s standing in Germany cannot be overestimated. For years, members of Bayern’s 2001 Champions League‑winning side such as Stefan Effenberg and Oliver Kahn sniped at them from the sidelines. For many of the country’s football traditionalists, the two of them were not big and brash enough, and the lack of international trophies – with Bayern and Germany – was blamed on their perceived lack of leadership quality.

“Here are your Führungsspieler [leading players] who [you said] aren’t Führungsspieler“, Müller shouted defiantly at reporters in the mixed zone,  when the two captains were passing through.

Of course, there are still those who won’t be happy and satisfied no matter what. Even now, I read that they should win this or that to be considered great. Well, that’s not me. Greatness is in the eye of the beholder.

Lahm has said that “a dream isn’t a goal”, but that one can become the other. Now, Bayern is living its dream after having achieved its goal.

2 comments

  1. I’m really happy for Philipp. They finally made the dream come true. And he, as a captain, deserves all of the achievements! Great captain! Great team!

    1. Hey :)

      Thanks for the comment! I assume you watched the match, right? :) What did you think of it?

Leave a Reply

